Fund For Constitutional Government

Submissions Are Open for the 2023 CCNow Journalism Awards


From Covering Climate Now

We’ve expanded our awards by adding new categories. We look forward to your stories — by March 15!

  • Please help us spread the word. See our social media toolkit here and the press release here.
  • Entries will close at midnight on March 15, 2023. Read the FAQs about this year’s awards.
  • See the finalists and winners of the 2022 and 2021 CCNow Journalism Awards.

We’re excited to launch the third annual Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards! Journalists throughout the world are invited to submit their work for the 2023 Awards, presented with the Columbia Journalism Review.

The deadline for entries is March 15, 2023. The work submitted must have been published, broadcast, or otherwise released during calendar year 2022. There is no entry fee, and news outlets are not required to be CCNow partners to participate. The judging will be done by a panel of distinguished journalists from around the world, including winners of the 2021 and 2022 Awards. Read the FAQs 


Entry categories include:

  • Writing — Short- and Long-form work; Newsletters; and Commentary
  • Audio — Short- and Long-form work; and Radio or Podcast Series
  • Video — Short- and Long-form work; and Documentary
  • Multimedia
  • Photography
  • Social Media
  • Engagement Journalism
  • Emerging Journalist
  • Student Journalist

Covering Climate Now’s 2021 and 2022 Awards together honored work from 74 countries by journalists at outlets including the Guardian, Reuters, Agence-France Presse, CNN, PBS NewsHour, Al Jazeera, Channel 4 (UK), the Los Angeles Times, TIME, Rolling Stone, and The Nation, as well as such smaller outlets as Grist, the Post and Courier, and The New Humanitarian. Winners of the 2022 awards were featured in “Burning Questions,” a TV special hosted by Al Roker and Savannah Sellers of NBC News and broadcast on public broadcasting’s WORLD Channel in the US and streamed on YouTube.

More News